Isaiah 40-44

There is so much in these chapters that we could talk about especially concerning prophecies about Jesus, but I want to talk about a verse that has had a real impact on my life:

‘Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name; you are mine’ (43:1).

God has called me to become a vicar in the Church of England and at the time of my deepest doubt about this He spoke to me with the words ‘you are mine’ which come from the verse above.  I immediately felt a sense of calm about the whole thing, not necessarily that the church would also recognise my calling (it takes them over a year including a three day interview!) but that God was reassuring me of my worth and that He has called me, that I am part of his plan.  The point is that we are all part of God’s plan and that He has redeemed each of us and that He calls us.  The question then is what is God calling you to?  Perhaps He is calling you to do something specific today or tomorrow, or perhaps he is calling you to a certain job or place.  We all need to listen and to answer God’s calling.  And don’t forget to test the calling!  Prayer and friends are good for this J (31/12/12)
Leave a Reply

